AMAZON Reviews for GRAYSON SPRINGS

5.0 out of 5 starsHighly recommended!!!!
ByBetty Schultenon January 23, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
Highly recommend! Very well written, grabs you from page one and doesn't let go. Couldn't sleep for thinking about this book, I had to get up in the middle of the night to finish it. Great storyline encompasses a bit of history with human nature, it would make a fantastic movie. Looking forward to more books from this author!

 

 
5.0 out of 5 starsExceptional read...
ByAmazon Customeron November 20, 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
Grayson Springs, is an excellent novel with great style and careful plotting. The meld between past and present is exceptional. The storyline will grab you and not lessen its grasp.
The history lessons along the way, with exceptional details, are carefully blended with a wonderful story line.
His telling elements, layers of intrigue, poignant moments, ingenious solutions, centered around the characters everyday activities are carefully described pulling you in with anxious anticipation of the final page.
A strong touch on the key board and strong voice. Thank you for an exceptional read, I anxiously await more....

 

5.0 out of 5 starsVery good from beginning to end
ByGunnbagon March 6, 2015
Format: Paperback
I am retired and have a lot of time to read. Very rare for a book to surprise me. This one did. Very good from beginning to end. Several turn that were unexpected. I give it a hi recommendations for anyone wanting something to read that they won't want to put down. *****

 

5.0 out of 5 starsIt is a wonderful book. I wish it would just keep on ...
ByOlivia Telleson March 7, 2015
Format: Paperback
It is a wonderful book. I wish it would just keep on going. It would be nice if all troubled teens could read this book or visit a place like GRAYSON SPRINGS.

 

4.0 out of 5 starsI would particularly recommend this book for those who are interested in history ...
ByKelsey McKimon March 15, 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
In this novel, Gambrell explores a young woman's confusion over her self-identity and how an experience working at an inn in rural Kentucky helped her discover more about herself.

Brooke is a troubled teen, and she is headed down a path that is not ideal. Her concerned father finds Grayson Springs as an alternative to juvenile detention and signs Brooke up. From there, Brooke is on a whirlwind of learning about rural life, 1800s technology, and her own past.

Interwoven throughout the novel is a second storyline of another young woman who worked at the inn--and who is mysteriously connected to Brooke.

I would particularly recommend this book for those who are interested in history or genealogy. It is a novel that is driven by character development and the (sometimes unlikely) relationships between characters. The reader finds him- or herself rooting for Brooke as she sorts her way through Grayson Springs life and layers of history.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsMUST READ
ByCUSTOMER Xon October 14, 2015
Format: Paperback
Grayson Springs is a "chick book" written for everyone, young and old. I would have to admit that if I saw the book on the shelf, I would have skipped it. However, since I know the author, I was one of the lucky ones to get an early copy and all I can say is that I'm glad I read it. It is a heartwarming page turner about a troubled girl who is forced to move to Central KY in order to get fixed. It's a story that is full of mystery, surprises, kindness, warmth and love. If you can get a copy, I highly encourage you to do so. You won't be disappointed!

 

5.0 out of 5 starswill keep you in its world
ByRyan Blackmanon June 21, 2015
Format: Paperback
a great book that manages to hold your attention and you will not be able to put it down when you start it

 

5.0 out of 5 starsA Must Read!
ByRoberta Hartlageon July 13, 2015
Format: Paperback
Could not put the book down - read it in one day - and haven't done that in years!! The book made me cry, laugh, rejoice, and remember some years past! Hope there is a sequel (and would be great as a movie). Thank you Ron Gambell, in so many ways!

 

5.0 out of 5 starsyou know it's a good book. This is the kind of book you ...
ByTamala Richelle Foster, D.C.on June 5, 2015
Format: Paperback
When you get to the end of a book and you want to know more about the character's future, you know it's a good book. This is the kind of book you can't put down.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsGood read
ByBill F.on April 18, 2015
Format: Paperback
I found Grayson Springs to be a very good read, a true page turner. The details of the backwoods of Kentucky are realistic. I liked the style of the author's writing. I became engaged from the start and found it hard to put the novel down. I can realistically see this type of scenario actually happening although maybe not as fast as depicted in this book. I am looking forward to more from Ron Gambrell.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsImagery, imagination and purpose.
ByKon October 5, 2015
Format: Paperback
I read this with my book club. It was a good read. The descriptions of the settings made me want to go for a walk in the country. I particularly liked the historical detail.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsFor Fans of Historical Fiction
ByBarbara Doyleon October 2, 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
I loved reading Grayson Springs for many reasons. Historical fiction is my favorite genre. It is suspenseful and exciting. It appealed to me as an adult, but I think my 17 year old granddaughter will enjoy the story of modern day teens living in an 1800s environment where there is no technology. I am familiar with the Kentucky area in which the story is set. I am anxious to visit the real Grayson Springs now. The book is a great read and it was enjoyed by all the members in my book club.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsVivid and Exciting!
BySandra Childresson September 12, 2015
Format: Paperback
Couldn't put this book down! My favorite reads are the ones that paint vivid pictures as I go along. Gambrell succeeded with this novel. Definite page turner.

 

4.0 out of 5 starsNot my typical read, but very enjoyable!
ByJake G.on September 2, 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
It took me a bit to get into, as it's not the typical book for me to read. I am however glad I gave it a chance because I throughly enjoyed the ride the main character took!

 

5.0 out of 5 starsEnjoyed reading the book very much and would highly recommend
ByDIANE BRYANTon August 11, 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
Very well written story that held my interest throughout the entire book.. Enjoyed reading the book very much and would highly recommend.

 

4.0 out of 5 starsIt was a fantastic read with just the right amount of details
Bykristyon May 17, 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
The author walked right up to me and said you have to read my book. So I did just that. It was a fantastic read with just the right amount of details. Kept my attention (severe ADD) and was a fast read. Highly recommend this book!

 

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 starsThought provoking story with vivid characters and enivronment by first time author
ByBruce A Gambrell Jr.on February 28, 2015
Format: Paperback
Grayson Springs melds the worlds of historic parts of Grayson Kentucky with a present day storyline. The author successfully uses the past of the setting to help explain the troubles of a young girl struggling to let go of her own present day demons. The colorful characters and locations are ones that Elmore Leonard would approve of while taking the focus in a different direction that reflects some of the current issues in today's society. I enjoyed reading the novel and highly recommend it.